brittcarsondesigns

Maple Pecan Pie

In Pies on August 14, 2010 at 6:44 pm

fresh from the oven!

My grandmother on my Dad’s side lives in Virginia and is just oh-so-Southern. She sends up bags of pecans a few times a year, but my family just doesn’t really like pecans that much! They were starting to take up freezer space and every year I’d hear my mom grumble “…and the only thing you use pecans for is pecan pie!” I mentioned this story once to a group of guy friends and was stunned when they all yelled “I love pecan pie!” Et voila! I suddenly had a reason to bake a pecan pie. My biggest complaint, and theirs as well, was that pecan pie is generally much too sweet and mushy, so I found a recipe on another baking blog for a Maple Pecan Pie. I replaced almost all the ingredients with organic ones, and used organic all-purpose flour. I pulled my pie crust from another site as well.

For my first pecan pie, it was a huge hit! The top carmelised to perfection, and it was a very good balance of textures; plenty of pecans, not too much filling, and a lot of crunch. The only mistake I made was sightly underdoing the bottom, but now I know better for next time.

Find the original recipe here on Baking Bites. But I didn’t use any of the brown sugar and I went as organic as possible. Organic maple syrup has a very different consistency than processed kinds, so it does make a difference.

i did a really terrible job with the crust... i messed up when i rolled it out, whoops

the bottom was slightly underdone, and here you can see how little filling there is.

Here’s my version:

Maple Pecan Pie
pastry for 9-inch pie crust (i used organic whole wheat all-purpose flour for this as well)
1 cup organic maple syrup
1/4 cup sugar
3 large eggs
1 tbsp butter, melted and cooled
1 tbsp organic whole wheat all-purpose flour
1 tsp vanilla extract
1/4 tsp salt
2 cups coarsely chopped organic roasted and salted pecans

Preheat oven to 350F.
Roll out pie dough to fit a 9-inch pie plate. Transfer dough to pie plate and press lightly into place, crimping edges to fit. (If using a frozen pie crust, thaw first)
In a large bowl, whisk together maple syrup, sugars, eggs, melted butter, flour, vanilla and salt until smooth.
Spread the pecans into the bottom of the pie shell and pour maple syrup mixture over the top. Carefully transfer pie to oven.
Bake for 60 minutes, until puffed and set.
Cool completely on a wire rack before slicing.

Serves 8-10

Leave a comment